St. Sebastian church in See
In fine arts St. Sebastian is for the most part depicted as having his entire body bound to a tree with arrows. After his public avowal to Christianity the Roman captain of Emperor Diokletian was sentenced to death. However, the later patron saint for Black Death did not perish, but was brought back to health, whereupon he returned to the emperor’s court and once again avowed himself to Christianity. He was denounced for a second time and died in the Circus having been beaten with clubs.
Around 1445 the presence of a chapel on the site of the present-day church was first mentioned in official documents. The present church dates back to the middle of the 18h century and has been adapted on several occasions during the last 200 years. Interesting frescoes, from around 1761 by Johann Josef Wörle from Imst, a high altar and two side altars, which are decorated with figures made by Imst sculptor Franz Xaver Renn (around 1820), along with a larger than life-sized statue of Mary with Jesus by Josef Georg Witwer (1760) can be found in the middle alcove of the left side altar.
A trip to the village church during a holiday in See is not to be missed. Guests can start a non-binding holiday enquiry here or book directly online, to discover the churches in See and other sights in Tyrol.
A trip to the village church during a holiday in See is not to be missed.